Play with your kid, you may learn something

My daughter and I love volleyball.   She recently finished her club level competition team tournament.  She is also trying out for her middle school volleyball team.  I have never seen something ignite this kid the way volleyball does.  She is engaged and wants to get better.

When she was smaller, she would create videos for Littlest Pet shop characters.  She would use rolls of scotch tape to create desks and lockers out of things she found around the house.  She would not really want me to watch her or join in playing with these characters.

With volleyball, it is a different story.  Every time I ask her to come and hit the ball with me, she does.  This still surprises me every time.  She a lot of the time is silent at first.  She warms up.  She complains when I shank the ball, She gets comfortable and finally will tell me about her day and the people in it.

I had always asked about her day before but she is just like me and doesn’t want to relive it at the time.  She just says it was ok.  Well, what does that mean?  Nothing really happened?  It was ordinary?

We need to connect with our kids in their way. With technology, we are losing the art of communication.  It used to be I just kept the music off during drives places and the silence would cause her to want to open up.  With her cel phone, she can be quiet for a few hours.

I had to learn to communicate with her on her terms.  I needed to let her know I am there for her at all times any time she wants to talk, I will listen in a non-judgemental way.  I want to know what is going on with her life without snooping through all of her stuff.

We like volleyball, what does your child like and want you to participate?  Wanna play?

Leave a Reply

